Spain to remove entry restrictions on travelers from China, 9 other nations

Joanna Estrada
May 25, 2021

The new rule will apply to vaccinated travellers regardless of their country of origin, and most notably from the United States, Sanchez said in a speech at the FITUR global tourism trade fair in Madrid.

The other countries are Australia, New Zealand, Singapore, Israel, South Korea, Thailand, Rwanda and Japan.

"From June 7, all vaccinated people and their families will be welcome in our country, Spain, regardless of their country of origin", Sanchez said. He also informed that travellers from Britain would be allowed to visit for vacations from next week onwards.

Sanchez said those two developments will bring "a very much better summer" than a year ago, when the tourist industry in one of the world's most popular vacation destinations was crushed by limits on travel and gatherings due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

In parallel, from May 24, Spain will allow tourists from non-EU countries deemed a low coronavirus infection risk to enter without a negative PCR test.

The country says the United Kingdom and Japan will be on a list of countries whose residents are not affected by restrictions on non-essential travel to the EU.

Spain's announcement came a day after European Union member states reached a deal paving the way for a COVID-19 certificate to open up travel throughout Europe.

The fair was taking place as many countries in Europe and beyond emerge from lockdowns and as people across the globe are gearing up to travel again.

The tourism sector accounted for 12% of Spanish GDP in 2019, but that plummeted to just under 6% in 2020.

Other reports by Click Lancashire

Discuss This Article