Travel is risky to 80% of countries, including Cyprus, says US

Henrietta Strickland
April 20, 2021

The US has added some 130 countries to its Do Not Travel list, accounting for 80 per cent of the planet, raising concerns the country will not open a transatlantic corridor with the United Kingdom in May.

The U.S. State Department on Monday urged Americans reconsider any global travel they may have planned and said it would issue specific warnings not to visit roughly 80% of the world's countries due to risks from the coronavirus pandemic.

Most countries are now listed on the State Department website with a "Level 3 Reconsider Travel" warning, the second-highest alert. Travel to the remaining 20 per cent of countries is also discouraged. That will become known as guidance is issued individually for each country in the coming week.

The upgraded warnings come as the number of US travelers continues to rise and more countries around the world start to open their borders to Americans. "We continue to strongly recommend USA citizens reconsider all travel overseas, and postpone their trips if possible". Washington has barred almost all non-U.S. citizens who have recently been in most of Europe, China, Brazil, Iran and South Africa.

"This does not imply a reassessment of the current health situation in a given country, but rather reflects an adjustment in the State Department's Travel Advisory system to rely more on CDC's existing epidemiological assessments", the department said in a media note.

CDC did not immediately comment.

The United States hasn't had a global advisory warning against worldwide travel since August, when guidance was revoked by the Trump administration.

The State Department doesn't like the idea of Americans traveling to other nations during the pandemic, and it's about to make that clear.

"We know that right now we have a surging number of cases". "We are not recommending travel at this time, especially for unvaccinated individuals".

Other reports by Click Lancashire

Discuss This Article