Darren Sproles selected to the College Football Hall of Fame

Ruben Hill
January 14, 2021

Tony Romo will be one of 11 players and two other coaches who will be inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame on December 2021.

The College Football Hall of Fame class of 2021 includes 11 players and two coaches, headlined by ex-Oklahoma coach Bob Stoops, Heisman Trophy victor Carson Palmer and Eastern Illinois star Tony Romo.

The Olathe native is now the third K-State player in the college hall, joining Gary Spani and Mark Simoneau.

Romo retired after the 2016 season and was hired by CBS Sports to become the lead color analyst for its National Football League telecasts. Former Eastern Illinois quarterback and current CBS NFL analyst Tony Romo was also selected for induction along with former Florida A&M coach Rudy Hubbard.

By the time Sproles graduated from Kansas State, he held 28 school records, 21 of which he still holds to this day, according to the school's website.

The list includes five players who were conference players of the year: North Carolina tackle Harris Barton, Miami linebacker Dan Morgan, Palmer, Spiller and Romo, who earned the honor three times. An accomplished receiver and returner, Sproles is also the school's career record holder for all-purpose yards (6,812) thanks to 2,735 yards in 2003, also the top total in school history for a season. Additionally, Tippett still holds the University of Iowa football single-season record for tackles-for-loss yardage, amassing 20 tackles that amounted to 153 lost yards for Hawkeye foes in 1980.

Following his time in Manhattan, Sproles enjoyed a 16-year National Football League career with the then-San Diego Chargers, New Orleans Saints and Philadelphia Eagles.

In 1982, Tippett was drafted by the New England Patriots in the second round (41st overall) and went on to have a Hall of Fame career in New England for the next 11 seasons. He was a fourth-round pick by the San Diego Chargers in 2005. He retired following the 2019 season, and he ranks sixth in National Football League history in career all-purpose yardage with 19,696 yards.

The honor came following a vote by the National Football Foundation (NFF) and was first revealed on ESPN's "SportsCenter" Monday.

Other reports by Click Lancashire

Discuss This Article