Last Lunar Eclipse Of 2020: How To Watch November Lunar Eclipse

James Marshall
November 29, 2020

During a penumbral lunar eclipse, the moon gradually grows a little darker until the maximum eclipse, after which it gradually lightens again. Penumbra means half-shadow. The penumbral lunar eclipse happens when the Sun, the Earth, and the Moon are imperfectly aligned with each other.

Chang'e-5, comprising an orbiter, a lander, an ascender, and a returner, has carried out two orbital corrections during the Earth-Moon transfer, achieving its expected goals.

Afterward, it will adjust the altitude and inclination of its orbit around the moon.

November is coming to an end, and with it, the lunar eclipses for the year as well.

"About 20 minutes prior to the deepest phase of the eclipse, you might see some evidence of this faint penumbral shading on the moon's upper edge", Rao notes.

The nickname "beaver moon" comes from Algonquin Native American tribes and American colonists, who gave nicknames to each full moon based on weather conditions, farming routines and hunting trends at that time of the year.

As the moon is becoming full early Monday morning, there will be a partial lunar eclipse - known as a penumbral eclipse.

When will the astronomical events take place?

According to Time and Date, the last penumbral lunar eclipse 2020 will be visible in North and South America, Australia, and parts of Asia.

The celestial event will not be visible in India as the Moon will be below the horizon.

Sky-gazers must write down these timings if they wish to see this attractive event: Th eclipse begins prior to the full moon at 2:32 am EST (7:32 UTC); hides the 83% of the moon behind Earth's shadow at 4:42 am EST (9:42 UTC) and moves away at 6:53 a.m. EST (11:53 UTC) Monday morning, as per data given by timeanddate.com.

But experts say that the event will be hard to catch without proper instrumentation. After the lunar eclipse event of November 30 gets over, another solar eclipse event will occur on December 14. It will be a total lunar eclipse.

Other reports by Click Lancashire

Discuss This Article

FOLLOW OUR NEWSPAPER