Alan Faneca, Hines Ward represent Steelers again as Hall of Fame semifinalists

Ruben Hill
November 25, 2020

Two Jaguars legends are a step closer to immortality.

The Pro Football Hall of Fame announced their semifinalists today and once again there is a black and gold feel.

The semifinalists were announced Tuesday. Players who previously were on the ballot and are first-time semifinalists are Eric Allen, Willie Anderson, Cornelius Bennett and Rodney Harrison. Tasker has been this far in the process eight times, and Holt (seven), Boselli (six) and Faneca (six) also are familiar with the semifinal stage. His career was cut short by shoulder injuries.

Taylor, the No. 9 overall selection in the 1998 NFL Draft, rushed for 11,695 yards and 66 touchdowns in 13 NFL seasons.

General manager John Lynch, former defensive tackle Bryant Young and former linebacker Patrick Willis are among the 25 Modern-Era Player Semifinalists for the Pro Football Hall of Fame's Class of 2021. He finished with 11 catches for 109 yards and one touchdown in Rams' 23-16 Super Bowl XXXIV victory over Tennessee Titans. To be considered for election to the Pro Football Hall of Fame, a nominated individual must not have participated as an active player for five consecutive seasons. No more than five modern-era candidates make the hall each year.

The 25 semifinalists will be reduced to 15 before the Hall of Fame selection committee chooses between four and eight finalists to be enshrined in 2021. The finalists will consist of 15 modern-era finalists and the recently named senior finalist, Drew Pearson; contributor finalist, Bill Nunn; and coach finalist, Tom Flores.

Other reports by Click Lancashire

Discuss This Article