Google Drive will soon automatically delete your trash files after 30 days

Joanna Estrada
September 21, 2020

If users have items that have been in their trash folder for months, those files will remain there until 30 days after the new policy starts. It is advisable to check your emails now.

"Files in shared drives' trash are already automatically deleted after 30 days". Unfortunately, this will soon change. It can be retained indefinitely until the user emptied the trash.

Google has chose to now change the way Google Drive manages trashed files and documents. However, from October 13 Google is changing the functionality.

Google Drive is changing its Trash policy. "After the 30-day period, files that have been in the trash for longer than 30 days will begin to be automatically deleted". As of now, in a client's rubbish on October 13, 2020, any documents will stay there for 30 days.

Google made the announcement in a blog post on September 15.

The change impacts all Google Drive users and has been done to bring Drive in line with the policies of other G Suite products such as Gmail. "This will help ensure behavior is consistent and predictable for users across G Suite products and will help make sure that items users trash are actually deleted as expected", said on the press release.

Google intends to add a flag warning to Google Drive just as to its Google Docs, and Google Forms applications to guarantee that the entirety of its clients know about how long records will be put away in the junk before being for all time erased.

Since we still have few weeks before the said October 13 deadline, here are the steps to easily retrieve your files in Drive that you may have accidentally deleted. Therefore, it can be said that Google has taken a step to increase the consistency between its services. After 30 days, they are going to be automatically deleted.

Other reports by Click Lancashire

Discuss This Article

FOLLOW OUR NEWSPAPER