First astronaut launch from USA soil in nearly a decade

James Marshall
August 2, 2020

Elon Musk's SpaceX said on Tuesday that it raised $346.2 million in a new round of funding, a day before it launches two American astronauts to the International Space Station.

The launch was postponed Wednesday due to weather concerns but saw the final weather system clear just ahead of its second try today. The action begins Wednesday at 3 p.m. EDT (1900 GMT) with a live, two-hour broadcast of the launch by SpaceX and NASA. NASA's Doug Hurley and Bob Behnken are headed to the International Space Station and will become the first astronauts to launch from the USA since 2011, NPR reports.

The launch is now set to take off from Kennedy Space Center at 4:33 p.m. EDT (1:33 p.m. PDT), though that'll depend on weather conditions.

NASA astronauts Robert Behnken and Douglas Hurley will launch aboard a SpaceX Crew Dragon spacecraft, which will be propelled into space by a Falcon 9 rocket. But now, based on the Demo-2 mission, the Crew Dragon Capsule will be able to earn regular astronaut shuttle missions to the International Space Station.

Crews had begun to fuel the Falcon 9 rocket carrying the capsule before the decision was taken to cancel due to cloudy skies and rain.

NASA began pursuing its public-private partnership program in 2010 and certified Boeing and SpaceX for crew transport in 2014. Actually, you'll be able to watch it live on ABC, the National Geographic Channel, as well as on Hulu, Roku, Sling TV, Facebook, Twitter, YouTube TV, Apple TV, and Amazon's news app on Fire devices and Fire TV.

Other reports by Click Lancashire

Discuss This Article

FOLLOW OUR NEWSPAPER