Gov. Cuomo Adds 8 States to NY Self-Quarantine List

Elias Hubbard
July 1, 2020

NY on Tuesday doubled to 16 the number of USA states whose residents must go into quarantine if they visit, Governor Andrew Cuomo said amid surging coronavirus infection rates.

NY state's positivity rate Monday was one percent.

At the time that order applied to incoming travelers from Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, Florida, North Carolina, South Carolina, Washington, Utah, and Texas.

NY is one of many states that are now seeing their COVID-19 numbers on the downswing.

Connecticut Governor Ned Lamont tweeted that his state had also expanded its list to 16 under the "regional travel advisory". In Western New York, the positive test rate jumped to 1.3 percent, up from 0.80 percent on Saturday and Sunday. The seven-day rolling average for the percentage of positive tests in New York City, which was once the nation's epicenter of the virus, was was 1.1% as of Monday.

"We now have 16 states that meet the formula for quarantine", Cuomo told local television news channel NY1.

He offered several mechanisms - hotel clerks, business meetings and police officers stopping vehicles with license plate from affected states - as ways NY could be notified of quarantine violations.

According to the Hill, as far as enforcement of the order goes, Cuomo said that violators may be subject to fines, but that police would not be patrolling the state's borders.

In New York, patient hospitalizations stood at 891 Tuesday and the state recorded 13 deaths.

Other reports by Click Lancashire

Discuss This Article