The EU opens its borders, but not to Americans

Henrietta Strickland
June 30, 2020

Diplomatic sources also told Euronews last week that there is disagreement between nations on the criteria to use for this decision, with some maintaining that data about COVID rates is not reliable.

The list has already aroused controversy after sources revealed that the United States - the worst-affected country worldwide by COVID-19 with more than 2.4 million cases, is on the latter list.

European officials spent most of Friday behind closed doors in heated debates about which countries to allow in, which not, and by what metrics; however, no results were achieved.

Writer Matina Stevis-Gridneff also confirmed that while "Diplomats did not expect the list to change" ahead of the July 1 deadline, it will be reevaluated every two weeks to reflect the current situation regarding the pandemic.

The list will act as a recommendation to European Union members, meaning they will nearly certainly not allow access to travelers from other countries, but could potentially set restrictions on those entering from the 14 nations.

The EU has drafted up a list of 14 countries which will be allowed into the bloc from July 1, reports the BBC.

The commission said that citizens of Brazil, Qatar, the United States and Russian Federation would only be able to enter Europe at a later date when the epidemiological situation in these countries improves.

The EU put in place a temporary restriction of non-essential travel to the bloc on March 17, initially for a period of 30 days but extended on several occasions.

Sadly not. According to the guidance, "residence in a third country for which the restrictions on nonessential travel have been lifted should be the determining factor (and not nationality)".

No, for the same reason as above.

Croatia, which now holds the EU's rotating presidency, requested that countries offer feedback by Saturday at 1600 GMT, with hopes the matter could then be put to a vote among the 27 member states.

This really depends on how you read it. While the recommendations will be reviewed every two weeks, the guidelines suggest that US residents won't be allowed to travel to the European Union until the spread of the coronavirus is under control domestically.

Other reports by Click Lancashire

Discuss This Article