Coronavirus: EU to allow entry to citizens of Algeria, Morocco and Tunisia

Elias Hubbard
June 30, 2020

The EU has named 14 countries whose citizens are deemed "safe" to be let in from 1 July, despite the pandemic - but the US, Brazil and China are excluded.

The United States, which has the most Covid-19 cases in the world and is experiencing a surge in new infections, also failed to make it to the list as the European Union countries believe that the USA failed to control the coronavirus pandemic.

Among the safe countries are Australia, Canada, Japan, Morocco, Serbia and Montenegro.

The EU released list of nations whose citizens will enter its borders beginning July 1.

Border management will remain a matter of national decision, meaning that member countries may decide not to open their borders to all the 15 countries, however they will undertake not to accept visitors from other nations.

That list of safe countries was officially unveiled by European officials on Tuesday.

Travelers in countries that did not make the list can still enter if they fall under the following exemptions: EU citizens or family members of an EU citizen; long-term EU residents or family members; those with an "essential function or need", such as diplomats, healthcare workers or certain agricultural workers.

The European Commission, which monitors the bloc's laws, believes that "travel restrictions should not be lifted as regards third countries where the situation is worse" than the average in the 27 EU member countries plus Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland.

Others listed are China, Costa Rica, Cuba, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Dominica, Egypt, Ethiopia, Georgia, Guyana, India, Indonesia, Jamaica, Japan, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, Lebanon and Mauritius.

The EU list does not apply to travel to Britain, which left the EU in January.

According to the article, discussions continued overnight, with the European Union countries giving informal replies by Saturday evening.

The original goal was to reopen to countries with an epidemiological situation "comparable or better" than that in the bloc - that is with 16 or fewer cases of COVID-19 per 100,000 inhabitants over the past two weeks.

Other reports by Click Lancashire

Discuss This Article