Penumbral Lunar Eclipse On July 5: Everything You Need To Know

James Marshall
June 29, 2020

Chandra Grahan 2020 date and time: The year 2020 has been really exciting for skywatchers and astronomy enthusiasts as after the first solar eclipse of 2020 that took place on June 21, comes the turn of the penumbral lunar eclipse slated to take place on July 5.

Star gazers, get ready, because there's going to be a stunning full buck moon and a penumbral lunar eclipse taking place this weekend. The penumbra being fainter than the umbra - the central and the darkest portion of Earth's shadow, makes the eclipse seem like a normal Full Moon, just a little fainter. Only 30 per cent of the Lunar Eclipses are "partial eclipses". Since the shadow is dim, a penumbral lunar eclipse is often mistaken for a regular Full Moon.

A Lunar Eclipse occurs when the sun, moon and the earth come in a straight line and the earth blocks sun's rays from reaching the moon.

What is a Lunar Eclipse? The eclipse will start at 03:07 AM UTC (08:37 AM IST), reach a maximum at 04:29 UTC (09:59 AM IST) and then end at 05:52 AM UTC (11:22 AM IST).

According to the timeanddate.com, the Lunar Eclipse that will occur on July 5 will be a "Penumbral Lunar Eclipse" and will have a duration of 2 hours and 45 minutes.

Lunar Eclipse 2020: Will it be visible in India?

What is the Buck Moon?

Some also say that during this phase of the lunar cycle in July, a buck's antlers are in full growth mode in some regions of the world and hence, it felt fitting to refer to the sighting as full buck moon. According to historical beliefs, Native Americans used to refer to a full moon sighting as "buck moon". The eclipse will be visible in most parts of the African continent, North America, South America, Pacific, Atlantic and Indian ocean among others. It also has been known as the Full Thunder Moon for its timing during a period of the year when thunderstorms occur frequently.

"The penumbra causes only a slight darkening of the Moon's surface, with the Moon still exposed to some direct sunlight, so this type of eclipse is easy to miss", Royal Museums Greenwich adds.

Other reports by Click Lancashire

Discuss This Article

FOLLOW OUR NEWSPAPER