ABC renews 19 shows, adds David E. Kelley drama 'Big Sky'

Lawrence Kim
May 22, 2020

Comedy series Schooled, from Sony Pictures Television and ABC Studios, has been axed along with Bless This Mess and Single Parents, both from 20th Century Fox TV, the Disney-owned stablemate to ABC. The cast includes Kylie Bunbury, Katheryn Winnick, Brian Geraghty, Dedee Pfeiffer, Natalie Alyn Lind, Jesse James Keitel, John Carroll Lynch, and Ryan Phillippe.

ABC announced this afternoon that it has issued new season renewals for thirteen series, including Stumptown (season two), The Rookie (season three), mixed-ish (season two), black-ish (season seven), The Conners (season three), American Housewife (season five), The Goldbergs (season eight), A Million Little Things (season three), The Bachelor (season 25), Dancing with the Stars (season 29), Shark Tank (season 12), 20/20 (season 43), and Jimmy Kimmel's Who Wants To Be A Millionaire reboot (season two). The fans of the show are likely feeling the very same gratitude thanks to the news that more of the Rookie is on the way after their second season finale twist that also saw Fillion's Nolan framed as the dirty cop by the former friend who had betrayed him.

The network just announced that it has picked up The Big Sky, a drama by David E. Kelley, and Call Your Mother, a comedy from Kari Lizer.

"At a time when we are physically apart and shared experiences matter more than ever, these shows will build on the strategy that has made us No. 1 this season - bringing people together, creating cultural moments, and making content that entertains and inspires across generations and demographics", said Karey Burke, president, ABC Entertainment. Earlier this season, ABC set the conclusions for How to Get Away with Murder, Modern Family, Fresh Off the Boat, and Agents of SHIELD while renewing The Good Doctor and Station 19. They discover that the sisters are not the only girls who have disappeared in the area, and it become a race against the clock.

Thursday offered a case of "good news and bad news" when it comes to the various ABC bubble series.

Kyra Sedgwick is Jean Raines, Rachel Sennott is Jackie Raines, Joey Bragg is Freddie Raines, Patrick Brammall is Danny, Emma Caymares is Celia, and Austin Crute plays Lane.

Other reports by Click Lancashire

Discuss This Article