Bert Sutcliffe Medal for former NZ wicket-keeper Ian Smith

Ruben Hill
April 30, 2020

Hawke's Bay-based global cricket commentator and record-breaking former cricket worldwide Ian Smith has been named victor of one of New Zealand Cricket's most prestigious awards.

The awards are being presented electronically for the first time due to Covid-19 restrictions and will stretch over four days.

Conway scored 543 runs at a strike rate of 145.18 in T20s during the course of the season, to complement his first-class form.

He stated, "I like each second spent in Test cricket".

"I'm so grateful", said Smith, while accepting the honour.

Sophie Devine, captain of the New Zealand girls's cricket staff, and Devon Conway, who carried out brilliantly in home cricket, had been awarded the "Dream 11 Super Smash Player of the Year" within the girls's and males's classes respectively on the primary day of the awards. Smith, arguably the most recognisable voice of New Zealand cricket on television sets around the world, said he felt "emotional" about joining this list, and dedicated the award to his wife, Louise.

First chosen to play for New Zealand in 1980 and becoming one of the World's greatest wicketkeeper-batsmen, Smith received the MBE about the time of his retirement in 1992, and has since commentated hundreds of cricket and rugby matches, mainly for Sky Tv. "Brendon [McCullum's] 300 will live forever in my mind; test wins at Lord's, Hobart, Ross Tayor's 290, the draw at Eden Park with so much drama against England, and of course the World Cup final at Lord's a year ago". Anyone involved with cricket and touring knows it needs a solid foundation to do it. Louise has always given it to me.

"Also, the people I've worked with and, in particular, the people over the past two decades at SKY television who have provided cricket coverage".

Sporting success runs in the Smith family, with son Jarrod representing football's All Whites to complete a rare New Zealand father and son double across codes.

"It's been a great journey and I wouldn't trade it for a second", he added.

Barclay congratulated Smith on being such a great contributor to the game.

"It's a wonderful achievement and you should be very, very proud".

"Thanks also for being true to yourself too, you're a special figure in cricket, you're held in high esteem throughout the game and once again congratulations".

These embody the Sir Richard Hadlee Medal for the very best participant of the yr which shall be given on Friday. They are Walter Hadlee, Merv Wallace, John Reid, Graham Dowling, Richard Hadlee and Ewen Chatfield.

Other reports by Click Lancashire

Discuss This Article