Trump administration plans to add Nigeria, Tanzania to travel ban list

Elias Hubbard
January 22, 2020

The Trump administration is planning to add seven countries - Belarus, Eritrea, Kyrgyzstan, Myanmar, Nigeria, Sudan and Tanzania - to its travel ban list, USA media reports said on Tuesday.

Nigeria, which is Africa's most populated country, Belarus, Eritrea, Kyrgyzstan, Myanmar, Sudan and Tanzania will go on the list, it has been reported.

However, the list is not final.

The US government had said the travel restriction is necessary to prevent potential acts of terrorism because countries on the list do not adequately screen travellers.

US President Donald Trump on Tuesday confirmed to the Wall Street Journal that he is trying to add more nations to the travel ban but declined to name the countries. The president did not specify to the newspaper what other countries would be banned in the future.

The ban is necessary to protect the United States against potential acts of terrorism, the Trump administration has said, although how Nigerians fit into this narrative is hard to see. Nigeria, for example - Africa's most populous country and largest economy - is a United States anti-terrorism partner.

White House spokesman Hogan Gidley declined to give any details about plans to expand the list, but said the original order had been "profoundly successful in protecting our country and raising the security baseline around the world".

Trump is expected to announce the expanded travel restrictions on Monday, which would also mark the third-year anniversary of the first travel ban.

The courts eventually allowed restictions on the entry of some citizens from Iran, Libya, Somalia, Syria, and Yemen, along with Venezuela and North Korea.

Other reports by Click Lancashire

Discuss This Article