Bumrah, Poonam Yadav grab Polly Umrigar Award

Ruben Hill
January 14, 2020

Among others, Poonam Yadav clinched the top honours for women and was awarded the best worldwide cricketer.

India spearhead Jasprit Bumrah on Sunday headlined the BCCI Annual Awards perform, grabbing the distinguished Polly Umrigar award other than annexing the Dilip Sardesai honour for his exploits in worldwide cricket within the 2018-19 season.

Now ranked as the world no.1 ODI bowler, Bumrah had made his Test debut during India's tour of South Africa in January 2018. She received a citation, trophy and cheque for Rs. 15 lakh.

The 28-year-old cricketer made her debut in International cricket on 5 April 2013 in a Women's Twenty20 International (WT20I) match against Bangladesh.

India opener Smriti Mandhana was awarded for being the highest run-getter in ODIs (349 runs in six matches at 69.80 with three half-centuries and one century), while Jhulan Goswami was acknowledged for taking the most number of wickets (11 wickets in six matches with one four-wicket haul). The pacer Bumrah was felicitated with Dilip Sardesai Award for the highest wickets in the Test cricket 2018-19 while Pujara bagged the same award for becoming the highest run-getter in Test cricket in 2018-19. Manayak features scored 872 runs in 9 Tests at on average three hundreds of years, three fifties and 67.07.

Indian test starter Mayank Agarwal, who has recently given the spotlight for good results in a row, is awarded the prize for the best global debut in the men's category, while Shafali Verma receives the award in the women's category.

Nitish Rana received the Lala Amarnath award for the best all-rounder in domestic limited-overs competition 2018-19. During this period, Pujara scored 677 runs in 8 Tests at the average of 52.07.

During this season, he claimed 34 wickets in six Tests, along with 31 from 17 ODIs and eight in seven T20Is.

Virender Sharma was adjudged one of the best umpire in home cricket whereas Vidarbha Cricket Affiliation had been introduced one of the best efficiency award in home cricket for wining the Ranji Trophy.

Meanwhile, speaking on awards, BCCI President Sourav Ganguly said that it is the way of "recognizing the finest on-field performances", besides honoring some Indian legends as well.

Other reports by Click Lancashire

Discuss This Article