Google updates Location History privacy tools in Maps

Joanna Estrada
December 10, 2019

You no longer need an Android phone if you want to keep your Google Maps activity (mostly) private.

That changes today. The company is rolling out incognito mode for iOS today.

Google introduced Incognito mode for Android devices earlier this year as part of a 2019 focus on making it easier to control, manage, and delete Location History information. Simply open Google Maps, tap on your profile photo, and select 'Turn on Incognito mode.' While Incognito mode is on, you won't receive personalized suggestions or notifications, and your searches and trips won't be saved to your Google account. The places you visit also won't be saved to your Timeline, since your Location History can't be updated. Again, this won't affect Assistant queries or prevent outsiders from theoretically snooping on your Google Maps traffic - this is mainly so that Google (and anyone with access to your phone) won't know what you've been looking for.

These aren't the flashiest of additions for one of the most popular apps on the planet, but it's nice to see Google take privacy more seriously, especially with more threats to our security floating around than ever before.

Other reports by Click Lancashire

Discuss This Article

FOLLOW OUR NEWSPAPER