Priyam Garg to lead India at U-19 World Cup next year

Ruben Hill
December 2, 2019

On Monday, the All-India Junior Selection Committee announced a 15-member squad for the 13th edition of the mega event which is slated to be held in South Africa from January 17 to February 7.

Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tilak Varma, Divyansh Saxena, Priyam Garg (c), Dhruv Chand Jurel (vc, wk), Shashwat Rawat, Divyansh Joshi, Shubhang Hegde, Ravi Bishnoi, Akash Singh, Kartik Tyagi, Atharva Ankolekar, Kumar Kushagra, Sushant Mishra, Vidyadhar Patil, CTL Rakshan. He has played 15 List A matches and 11 T20s.

Atharva Ankolekar, another Mumbai player who has also been making headlines, has also named in the touring party. The selectors picked Uttar Pradesh batsman Priyam Garg to lead the squad as India will look to defend the title. He hit a 74 in the final against India B last month.

Chandigarh's Arjun Azad, who was the top run-getter in India's successful Asia Cup campaign, isn't part of the squad, while Hyderabad's Thakur Tilak Varma finds a place.

Yashasvi Jaiswal slammed a double-hundred for Mumbai during the Vijay Hazare Trophy.

Speaking about the fixtures, India has been placed in Group A. The Boys in Blue will meet New Zealand, Sri Lanka, and Japan, who are making their debut in the tournament.

According to Dravid, "If the conditions in South Africa aid the fast bowlers, we will have a pretty good attack". We have got batting all the way down to seven-eight-nine. We have spinners. We had a lot of competition for parties, so it was nice to see.

Ahead of the Under-19 World Cup, India will play a three-match ODI series against South Africa and they will feature in the quadrangular series between December 26 and January 9.

India is essentially the most profitable crew within the event, having received 4 titles until date, together with the final version in 2018, when the Prithvi-Shaw led crew beat Australia by eight wickets within the remaining and remained unbeaten within the event. The top two teams from this round will progress to the Super League stage. In this series, all the World Cup team players will play along with CTL Rakshan, who is not in the World Cup squad.

Other reports by Click Lancashire

Discuss This Article