Officials warn against Facebook hoax messages

Joanna Estrada
October 8, 2018

If you think you're a victim of cloning, you should check and see if there is a duplicate of your account.

The easiest way to find out who has been accessing your account, when, and where is to go into your "Settings", select "Security", and then the "Where You're Logged In" option. "I actually got another friend request from you yesterday which I ignored so you may want to check your account".

"However, at risk of stating the obvious, sending a second friend request warning is only helpful if you have received a second friend request from someone". They want your friends to add them to their Facebook account.

Officials say forwarding the message only makes it worse. "It urges you to forward it to "all the people you want to forward to" - which many take to mean all their friends".

The message warns people their accounts may have been cloned.

The message tells Facebook users to hold their finger on the message until the forward button appears and then tells them to forward it to all of their friends.

"We've heard that some people are seeing posts or messages about accounts being cloned on Facebook". They'd send you a PM about it or perhaps post a comment on your timeline. The duplicate user may message these friends in an attempt to learn personal information about the cloned user or to spread scam messages.

Kelso said the best thing you can do is just ignore it and delete it. It'll do some good.

Other reports by Click Lancashire

Discuss This Article

FOLLOW OUR NEWSPAPER