Brian Dawkins selected to Hall of Fame

Lawrence Kim
February 5, 2018

A new Pro Football Hall of Fame traveling exhibit is in the Quad Cities at the Putnam Museum in Davenport for Super Bowl weekend.

The debate about who belongs in a Hall of Fame is always a heated and often unresolved one.

Urlacher is the 28th Bear to be enshrined in Canton, the most of any National Football League franchise, and Kramer becomes the 25th Packer - with Green Bay having the second-most inductees.

Former Tampa Bay Buccaneers safety John Lynch was not inducted into this year's Hall of Fame class.

We got a sneak peek Friday before it opens this weekend.

Lewis and James are both members of Miami's Sports Hall of Fame. The 13-time Pro Bowl player spent his entire 17-year career in Baltimore, leading the Ravens to a pair of Super Bowl victories and being named the MVP of the 2001 Super Bowl.

Lewis was drafted by the Ravens in the first round of the 1996 NFL Draft and retired in 2012.

In 214 games over 14 seasons, Moss was a four-time All-Pro and six-time Pro Bowler who caught 982 passes for 15,292 yards and 156 TDs - trailing only Jerry Rice for the most ever. "There are so many people that have helped me, and you fans better enjoy this weekend", Dawkins says. "And I think it was one of the featured positions in that defense". He was selected to nine Pro Bowls overall, received six All-Pro honors (five on the first team) and mentored numerous Broncos' current leaders, including cornerback Chris Harris and wide receiver Demaryius Thomas. Senior nominees Jerry Kramer and Robert Brazile were elected to the Hall.

Lynch moved closer to Canton in 2017 by making it to the final group of 10, but he failed to earn the requisite 80 percent of the votes to be elected. "I think if you sum that up, if I were a Hall of Fame voter, I would probably take that into consideration", Broncos president and CEO Joe Ellis said before Lynch's Ring of Fame induction. But he somehow worked and rehabbed enough to join the Eagles in the Super Bowl against the New England Patriots, just six weeks after suffering the injury.

Other reports by Click Lancashire

Discuss This Article