NCAA Tournament National Seeds Announced — COLLEGE BASEBALL

Olive Rios
May 30, 2017

The Pac-12-champion Beavers (49-4), who have spent the last 10 weeks as college baseball's consensus No. 1, were awarded the top national seed for the NCAA tournament on Monday morning.

Read the comments of this post for live updates on the 64-team tournament field as it develops.

After narrowly missing the tournament a year ago, the Beavers went 49-4 and set a Pac-12 record with 27 conference wins.

LSU pitcher Hunter Newman (55) reacts after the last out to defeat Arkansas in the ninth inning of the championship game in the Southeastern Conference NCAA college baseball tournament, Sunday, May 28, 2017, in Hoover, Ala.

Despite losing to Florida State in the ACC tournament over the weekend, North Carolina is listed as the No. 2 after winning 18 of its last 22 games. Florida, last year's top seed, is No. 3 overall.

The remaining national seeds, are Texas Tech (43-15), TCU (42-16), Louisville (47-10) and Stanford (40-14).

It is the sixth time that they will host a regional, and they're 26-6 in postseason play at Goss Stadium. Winners advance to eight, best-of-three super regionals.

The winners from the super regionals will progress to the College World Series in Omaha.

Coastal Carolina, the defending national champion, was also left home. "I think the fans have had a huge impact on some of the games throughout the season, so we thank them for that greatly".

The Hurricanes were hard hit by the major league draft previous year and beset by injuries. "At the end of the day, for our group, they had 30 Division I wins".

When asked if he'd like to see the selection committee spread out the western teams in the future, Casey said "I certainly would". The first four out were Miami, Connecticut, Old Dominion and SC.

The last four in were Auburn (35-24), Texas A&M (36-21), UCLA (30-25) and MI (42-15).

Oregon State went 27-3 in Pac-12 play, surpassing Arizona State's record of 26 league wins set in 1981. All four of those teams got in by winning their conference tournaments. Patriot League member Holy Cross (23-27) is in for the first time since 1978; Ivy League champ Yale (32-16) for the first time since 1993; and at-large pick West Virginia (34-24) for the first time since 1996. Oregon State is 18-4 all-time in regional games at home.

The Beavers are riding a 16-game winning streak into the postseason.

UCLA (30-25), which took two of three games at OR last weekend to finish third in the conference at 19-11, was one of the last four at-large teams to earn a berth in the field.

Other reports by Click Lancashire

Discuss This Article