Google to remove auto-syncing between Google Drive and Google Photos

Joanna Estrada
June 13, 2019

The main one is that the photos and videos from Drive will not automatically show up on Photos and new photos and videos from Photos will not be added to your Drive anymore.

If you use both Google Photos and Google Drive, you likely know that the two services are linked together. There's a Google Photos folder within Drive that acts nearly like a bridge between the two.

The idea is that your Drive folder called Google Photos automatically syncs to the service with the same name.

The first mention of this possibility came from Forbes a month ago, and according to Android Police, the changes are coming in an effort clear up user confusion and provide a "simplified" experience going forward.

Luckily, Google is going to simplify the situation, at least a little bit. One way that Google has attempted to bridge the services is with a tool that allows users to sync photos and videos automatically between them. Instead, the Google Photos folder will be its own thing.

Google says it is making this change due to consumer feedback.

Apparently users have been confused that deleting a photo in Google Photos deletes the copy of it in Google Drive - and vice versa - and other oddities such as edits made in Google Photos not showing up on the photo in Google Drive. You can store documents, images, videos, and even back up ...

"Any photos or videos from Drive in Photos that you have uploaded prior to this change will remain in Photos", the company added. The "Google Photos" folder in Drive will remain as well.

Thus, you could access the files uploaded to Google Photos and add new ones via Drive. The Backup and Sync feature on Windows and macOS can still be used to upload to both of them in High Quality or Original Quality.

Google notes that the Backup and Sync app will still be able to upload images to both services (they only count against your storage quota once if you use original quality).

Despite these changes, your existing photos and videos will remain in the two apps but will no longer be updated automatically. Is this better or worse than before?

Other reports by Click Lancashire

Discuss This Article

FOLLOW OUR NEWSPAPER