IPL Auction 2019: KXIP release Yuvraj Singh, 10 others

Ruben Hill
November 15, 2018

R Ashwin, who led the team past year, has been retained alongside top-scorer Lokesh Rahul, Karun Nair, Mayank Agarwal, Ankit Rajpoot.

Swashbuckling opener Chris Gayle, who was bought in the last round of auctions, led the list of retained players, along with KL Rahul. However, it released a group of 12 players, including stars like Yuvraj Singh and Aaron Finch. "We are building a younger team".

Speaking about the released players, Royals' owner Manoj Badale said, "After analysing our performances of 2018 and plotting our vision for the season ahead, we have made a decision to release a few players from our squad".

Contrary to speculations that Ashwin might be at the receiving end, Kings XI actually is planning, keeping him as the leader. Under the new coach, Mike Hesson, the team hopes to play a different brand of cricket.

The overhaul comes on the back off a poor second half performance by the franchise last season where they blew a chance to make it to the playoffs despite enjoying a great start to their campaign.

Earlier this month, Virender Sehwag ended his association with the Punjab-based franchise.

RETAINED: R. Ashwin, K.L. Rahul, Mayank Agarwal, Karun Nair, Andrew Tye, Mujeeb ur Rahman, Ankeet Rajpoot, Chris Gayle and David Miller.

India's 2011 World Cup hero Yuvraj Singh, left-arm spinner Axar Patel, Australia's current limited overs skipper Aaron Finch are amongst the 11 players released by Kings XI Punjab ahead of the 2019 IPL auction, according to exclusive information available with TOI.

Other reports by Click Lancashire

Discuss This Article