Soon, you'll have 10 minutes to 'unsend' a Facebook message

Joanna Estrada
November 8, 2018

Soon you'll be able to delete your Facebook Messenger messages.

You can finally take back your ill-conceived messages on Facebook.

While the update wasn't publicly announced, digital media expert Matt Navarra discovered Facebook's plans far down in the release notes for version 191.0 of Messenger's iOS client. As Facebook writes, the feature may be useful "If you accidentally send the wrong photo, incorrect information, or message the wrong thread".

Currently, while Facebook users can delete messages that they sent from their own inbox, the recipient of the message can still see them.

Well don't worry, because Mark Zuckerberg has come to the rescue. This time limit does seem surprisingly short, however, considering that the company gives WhatsApp users up to an hour to unsend that embarrassing photo.

Facebook have given no indication when this update will be rolled out, with the release notes simply saying: "Coming soon". The Messenger version only allows you ten minutes, which isn't much time to question whether contacting your ex was such a good idea. Even Gmail gives users a few seconds to "undo send". But we do know the feature has been in the works since back in April, having been first spotted in testing last month.

Have you ever sent a message and immediately regretted it?

Other reports by Click Lancashire

Discuss This Article

FOLLOW OUR NEWSPAPER