WhatsApp updates its 'Delete for everyone' feature with new rules

Joanna Estrada
October 15, 2018

WABetaInfo reports that the latest WhatsApp update now adds a recipient limit feature for "Delete for everyone" which checks whether the recipient of the message receives a delete request from the sender within a certain time limit, only after which will the message be deleted from both party's threads. The "Delete for everyone" was introduced previous year allowing users to delete a message in a conversation in under seven minutes. "If you delete a message for everyone, but the recipient won't receive the revoke request within 13h, 8m, 16s (maybe because the phone was off), the message will **not** be revoked".

WhatsApp has modified its "delete for everyone" feature to stop users from deleting older delivered messages.

The "Delete for Everyone" feature was rolled out past year to allow its one billion plus users revoke their messages in case they sent those to a wrong person or a group.

It is unclear whether the new change has already been implemented for all WhatsApp users or it will take some time to reach the entire WhatsApp user base. Earlier the limit to delete a message was 7 minutes. It was increased to 1 hour 8 minutes and 16 seconds.

It is not clear whether the new "recipient limit" will apply if the recipient quickly switches off the phone and keeps the device off for over 14 hours or switches off the internet immediately after. Apparently, stickers are popular in chat apps in some Asian countries and WhatsApp is hoping to woo more users by allowing people to use big stickers. There is no confirmation from WhatsApp, but if the feature is being tested in beta, the stable version of the app might receive the update soon.

WhatsApp has reportedly updated the rules for its 'Delete for Everyone' feature to make the experience better than before.

Other reports by Click Lancashire

Discuss This Article

FOLLOW OUR NEWSPAPER