New Zealand: Uncapped Dalton Papalii picked for tour to Japan and Europe

Ruben Hill
October 15, 2018

"Having the extra group come to Japan will allow us to send the bulk of our main squad to London early to acclimatise and prepare for what will be three big Test matches in the Northern Hemisphere, starting with England", Hansen said.

Lomax only become available past year after declaring for New Zealand and is in the squad of 19 which will take on Japan.

Liam Coltman is in the 19 players picked for the Japanese test.

The only potential debutant in Hansen's 32 man squad is Blues flanker Dalton Papalii.While there is plenty of fresh blood in the combined squads Hansen has also recalled several previously injured stars.

In their places, Auckland bolter Dalton Papali'i has been selected to the 32-man squad.

"He has played outstanding rugby this year and deserves his opportunity", said head coach Steve Hansen.

The five Tests shape as a fascinating challenge for the world champions, who wobbled near the end of the Rugby Championship.

Coles (31), ruptured knee ligaments against France in November previous year and needed two operations before a calf injury further delayed his return.

The All Blacks will be without regular openside flanker Sam Cane though after he suffered a season-ending neck injury against the Springboks in the team's final Rugby Championship Test earlier this month. Matt Todd has also been retained as a loose forwards option.

The All Blacks will face Australia in Yokohama on October 27, England at Twickenham on November 10, Ireland in Dublin on November 17 and Italy in Rome on November 24. They have held the trans-Tasman trophy since 2003.

The squad also included the return of a number of senior players, including hooker Dane Coles, lock Brodie Retallick, loose forward Liam Squire and prop Joe Moody.

Squad for Australia Test and Europe: Jordie Barrett, Ben Smith, Rieko Ioane, Waisake Naholo, Jack Goodhue, Anton Lienert-Brown, Ryan Crotty, Sonny Bill Williams, Beauden Barrett, Damian McKenzie, Richie Mo'unga, Aaron Smith TJ Perenara, Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi, Kieran Read (capt), Ardie Savea, Matt Todd, Dalton Papali'i, Liam Squire, Vaea Fifita, Sam Whitelock, Brodie Retallick, Scott Barrett, Patrick Tuipulotu, Owen Franks, Ofa Tuungafasi, Nepo Laulala, Joe Moody, Karl Tuinukuafe, Dane Coles, Codie Taylor, Nathan Harris.

Other reports by Click Lancashire

Discuss This Article