Mohamed Salah shortlisted in 30-man roster for the Ballon d’Or

Ruben Hill
October 10, 2018

The Ballon d'Or, now separate from FIFA's own player of the year award, is bestowed annually by France Football magazine.

Ronaldo and Messi have won the award between them for the last 10 years.

Harry Kane and Cristiano Ronaldo have been named on the shortlist for the 2018 Ballon d'Or. Messi has also won the award on five occasions.

For six years it combined with world football's governing body to become the Fifa Ballon d'Or. The victor of the prestigious Ballon d'Or organised by France Football magazine will be announced on December 3.

Then came Bale, who scored twice in the Champions League final - along with Real Madrid teammate and fellow scorer, Karim Benzema.

Alisson joined the club from AS Roma during the summer after helping the Serie A side reach the Champions League semi-finals last season and having represented Brazil at the World Cup.

Antoine Griezmann, a World Cup victor with France and Europa League champion at Atletico Madrid, is nominated alongside global teammate and Chelsea midfielder N'Golo Kante.

Others are: Edinson Cavani from Uruguay, Paris St Germain; Thibaut Courtois from Belgium, Real Madrid; Cristiano Ronaldo from Portugal, Juventus; Kevin De Bruyne from Belgium, Manchester City.

Also making the cut are Juve's Mario Mandzukic and Liverpool's Sadio Mane, while Barcelona are also represented by Croat defender Ivan Rakitic.

The Ballon d'Or is considered the most coveted personal accolade a player can achieve and this year's awards ceremony will take place in Paris on December 3.

Other reports by Click Lancashire

Discuss This Article