Real Madrid star Luka Modric wins 2018 FIFA Best Award

Ruben Hill
September 25, 2018

It's the first time since 2006 that Barcelona icon Lionel Messi has not been among the candidates for FIFA's top award after a disappointing 12 months by the Argentine's high standards.

Modric is arguably in pole position for the main award after winning the Golden Ball at this summer's World Cup in Russian Federation where Croatia finished runners-up.

Salah was another to miss out, having made the three-man shortlist for Best Player which was eventually won by Luka Modric.

Salah was crowned the FIFA Puskas Award victor for his goal against Everton in December 2017.

The victor of the FIFA Award is picked after the votes are split between national coaches of FIFA Member Associations, their team captains, a select group of media from those countries, and fans.

What's the difference between the Ballon d'Or and Best Fifa?

Debate is guaranteed, particularly after Ronaldo's unannounced absence in Monaco for UEFA's award ceremony - when he discovered that he was not the player of the year. Each accounted for 25% of the total.

On the men's side, Cristiano Ronaldo, Luka Modric and Mohamed Salah are up for Best Player, while the women's side is down to Marta, Ada Hegerberg and Dzsenifer Marozsan.

The Croatian was already crowned UEFA Player of the Year last month and ha now also lifted the prestigious Federation Internationale de Football Association award.

She led Brazil to the Copa America in April, as they won all seven matches - although she only scored one of their 31 goals.

In other categories, the Best Coach award looks destined for Didier Deschamp after his World Cup victory with France, though there is also competition from Zinedine Zidane to retain his crown.

Another major issue with the selection came with the fact that Thibaut Courtois, who was voted the world's best goalkeeper earlier in the evening, was omitted from the XI at the expense of David de Gea.

The former Marseille, Juventus and Chelsea midfielder captained his country as they won the World Cup in 1998, before guiding them to victory again in Russian Federation in July.

The Croatian also won the Golden Ball for the player of the tournament in Russian Federation and Midfielder of the 2017/18 UEFA Champions League Season award beating Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City) and Toni Kroos (Real Madrid).

Other reports by Click Lancashire

Discuss This Article