FIFA Best Player: All you need to know about Monday's awards

Ruben Hill
September 24, 2018

"Furthermore, if Federation Internationale de Football Association were to look at the big picture and consider the hardships and culture barriers each player had to endure in the course of his career to reach this level, then Salah must win hands down".

McGree's audicious Scorpion kick for the Newcastle Jets against Melbourne City in the A-League is one of 10 finalists for the Puskas Award for best goal.

Why is Ronaldo not attending?

It is the same reasoning he gave when he withdrew from the Portugal squad for the most recent global break.

The other awards are for the Best Fifa goalkeeper, men's coach, women's coach, fan award, fair play award and Fifpro World XI.

Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi's decade-long domination of football's individual awards is under threat from Real Madrid and Croatia midfielder Luka Modric and Liverpool's Egyptian forward Mohamed Salah when FIFA's player of the year is announced on Monday (Sep 24).

Ronaldo skipped on the UEFA player-of-the-year awards, reportedly because he believed he would not win.

Initial reports suggested that the results had been given in advance to Ronaldo and his team, which is why he snubbed the event.

Egypt's assistant manager told The Sun: "The reason why I think Salah should win the award is because of the journey he has taken to achieve what he has".

"Messi and Ronaldo are fantastic players, but this year is the year of Luka".

He is nominated for goal of the year for an effort, ironically, against the team he would go on to join, Juventus.

Salah, meanwhile, was on the losing side in the Champions League final but performed spectacularly during his first season at Liverpool.

The world's best male and female footballers will be named at the Best Fifa Football Awards in London today.

Firstly, Messi hasn't made the short list for the first time since 2007 and, secondly, Modric was the player of the tournament at this summer's World Cup and won UEFA's player of the year award last month.

Where are the awards held?

Gary Neville and Kelly Cates will present the event live at the Royal Festival Hall from 7.30pm on Sky Sports Main Event, where the best players and coaches from the men's and women's game will be vying for a number of prizes.

The awards will be hosted by British actor Idris Elba and feature a performance by Noel Gallagher.

Other reports by Click Lancashire

Discuss This Article