Fortnite had its biggest month yet in August with 78.3 million players

Joanna Estrada
September 23, 2018

Throughout Fortnite season 5 there has been a countdown showing how much time was left until the end of the current Battle Pass.

Just before the launch of Fortnite Season 6, six weeks of competition have begun with the Fortnite Fall Skirmish, awarding $10 million over a changing series of competitive and entertainment play formats.

The Fortnite season 6 release date news was revealed days after the Fortnite cube event reached its big finale in Battle Royale. The release date was originally scheduled for September 25, but Epic Games made a decision to extend it.

Anyway, the new Battle Pass theme should tie in with the story between the two Seasons, but we'll get a pretty good idea of what that is when Epic release a cinematic.

Fortnite season 6 will be available to play on PS4, Xbox One, Nintendo Switch, Android, iOS, PCs and Macs. But since it's less than a week away we can expect some teases to start appearing.

It can be played free but Epic, its developer, is expected to bring in more than $2 billion (£1.5 billion) from Fortnite this year, with about 70 per cent of the 125 million players buying extras.

As the Cube has melted into Loot Lake and its runes have started making odd noises (see more on that below), Epic has finally announced when we will see Season 6 kick off.

Fortnite Battle Royale players have also received a quadruple season 5 XP event. If you haven't completed this Season's, however, Epic has implemented a special 400% XP boost until 1pm BST/5am PT /8am ET 24 September. However, players have to unlock these skins first in order to earn additional styles for them.

Other reports by Click Lancashire

Discuss This Article

FOLLOW OUR NEWSPAPER