A few former Dolphins nominated for 2019 Hall of Fame class

Ruben Hill
September 14, 2018

On Thursday, the modern-era nominees for the Pro Football Hall of Fame's Class of 2019 were revealed.

Reed and Bailey were standout defensive backs for stout units. He ranks second in National Football League history with 1,325 receptions and is the Chiefs' career record holder for receptions (916) and receiving yards (10.940).

He spent his final five seasons with Atlanta, finishing with 111 touchdown catches and 15,127 yards receiving. Bailey would spend the next decade in Denver, totaling 34 interceptions (including 10 in 2006), three first team All-Pro selections, and eight Pro Bowl appearances. The first-rounder would spend the first five years of his career in Washington, where he would establish himself as one of the premier cornerbacks in the NFL.

The list includes 2018 finalists running back Edgerrin James, wide receiver Isaac Bruce, offensive linemen Tony Boselli, Alan Faneca, Steve Hutchinson and Kevin Mawae and defensive backs Ty Law and John Lynch. Among those coaches are Super Bowl champions Bill Cowher, Tom Flores, Mike Holmgren, Jimmy Johnson and Dick Vermeil. The finalists will consist of 15 modern-era finalists, along with the senior finalist, Johnny Robinson, and the contributor finalists, Pat Bowlen and Gil Brandt. The selection committee will meet on February 2, 2019, at the Super Bowl in Atlanta to elect the class. Four-to-eight new members will be selected. That means Denver will be a prime candidate to play in next year's Hall of Fame Game in Canton, Ohio.

Other reports by Click Lancashire

Discuss This Article