Ronaldo, Modric, Salah shortlisted — FIFA's best player

Ruben Hill
Сентября 5, 2018

The award for "the most lovely goal" is created to allow players who might not normally gain the spotlight to be celebrated on an worldwide stage - although past winners include footballing greats Cristiano Ronaldo and Zlatan Ibrahimovic.

"Before, everyone wanted to play for Barca or Madrid, who were the best, but now everything´s tighter and there´s not much of a difference between the teams in Manchester, PSG, Madrid, us, Bayern (Munich) and the Italian (teams)".

The Best Men's Player will not be won by the Argentine star this year, despite a magnificent season for the Catalan giants.

Back in the club game, Mohamed Salah, a beaten Champions League finalist, could have had a number of his 44 goals last season included in the nominations, but Federation Internationale de Football Association have settled on his strike in the Merseyside derby against Everton, where he beat two players before curling an effort into the top corner.

Barcelona have not won the Champions League since 2015 after crashing out in the quarter-finals in each of the past three seasons.

Ronaldo made the surprise switch to Turin after nine successful years at Real Madrid for a reported €100m (£88.3m) in July.

Real Madrid have two goals from last season's Champions League in the list of ten nominated for the Puskas goal of the season award, scored by Cristiano Ronaldo and Gareth Bale.

The 33-year-old, who joined Juve in a £105 million deal this summer, netted 44 goals in as many games for Los Blancos but is yet to get off the mark for his new employers.

Griezmann, 27, produced heroics for both club and country in 2018, bagging the UEFA Europa League, FIFA World Cup and UEFA Super Cup.

The winners will be announced on 24 September at Royal Festival Hall in London.

He misses out after Zinedine Zidane (Real Madrid), Didier Deschamps (France) and Zlatko Dalic (Croatia) all earned finalists nods.

Bale's effort won a poll by readers as the best goal and it received 40% of the votes and now it will be the general public that will decide on the Federation Internationale de Football Association award.

The women's player of the year award is between Olympique Lyonnais duo Ada Hegerberg and Dzsenifer Marozsan, who had an unbeaten league season and lifted the Women's Champions League, and Brazil's triumphant Copa America Femenina captain Marta.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article