Gmail's Android app now lets you undo sending an email

Joanna Estrada
August 21, 2018

Another feature that Gmail recently introduced on mobile was Confidential Mode, which essentially allows user to send emails to others that will self-destruct after a point of time.

What's arguably the most lifesaving email feature is now available on Gmail's Android app: unsending messages.

Unlike the web version, there isn't an option to extend the time limit.

Android Police reports that Undo Send is now spreading to users with version 8.7 of the app, released in mid-July, or later.

In case the feature isn't available on your device, you might have to wait a bit for it to be activated on your account, or you could try updating Gmail (here's version 8.7 on APK Mirror) to the latest version.

Whatever the timing, Undo is here, and it works. If you do, you'll be returned to the drafting screen for the applicable email.

If it makes it past that stage and the email is actually "sent", you can still stop the recipient from getting it. For Gmail-to-Gmail emails, Google can pull them back. You've got 10 seconds to tap on it and cancel the process; Gmail will then bring back the draft so you can properly finish what you started. One of the biggest features that arrived in 2015, after years of testing, was Undo Send - the ability to recall an email after tapping send button.

Again, we can't confirm precisely when this rolled out.

Google is finally rolling out Gmail features that were first Web-only, to its mobile verticals as well.

Other reports by Click Lancashire

Discuss This Article

FOLLOW OUR NEWSPAPER