Moore, Fowles, and Augustus Named WNBA All-Stars

Ruben Hill
July 20, 2018

That means Elena Delle Donne and Candace Parker will serve as captains.

The Women's National Basketball Association has unveiled their uniforms for the upcoming 2018 WNBA All-Star Game which will be held in Minneapolis next Saturday. ABC will televise the game live at 12:30 p.m. PT. It's also the sixth time in franchise history the Lynx have had at least three players in the All-Star Game. Seattle's Sue Bird was selected for her 11th All-Star appearance, breaking a tie for most in WNBA history with retired in star Tamika Catchings.

Moore leads the Lynx with 18 points per game, good for 10th in the WNBA.

Maya Moore was the top vote getter, but told the league she was unable to perform the captain duties giving Parker the chance as the third-place finisher in the voting done by fans, players, coaches and the media. "It's a testament to my teammates and coaches throughout the years, and an absolute honor given all of the greats who have played in this league".

One likely candidate for starting guard is Toliver, who joins Delle Donne in the second all-star selection of her career. She might have been snubbed once again if the league adhered to picking East and West All-Star teams as it had in previous years. Moore got the most fan votes (47,620), followed by Delle Donne (42,171), Parker (38,575), Bird (37,098) and Taurasi (35,687). Players and coaches were not allowed to vote for those on their own WNBA teams. Las Vegas' A'ja Wilson, the No. 1 draft pick this year, was the only rookie to make the All-Star list. Delle Donne will pick first among the remaining pool of 20 All-Stars and they'll alternate selections to fill out 11-player teams. The coaches earned their nods by their respective team's placement in the WNBA standings. Last-place IN is the only team without an All-Star Game representative.

- Three members of the Minnesota Lynx are headed to the WNBA All-Star Game.

Other reports by Click Lancashire

Discuss This Article