Jean Segura, Jesus Aguilar win MLB Final Vote

Ruben Hill
July 12, 2018

In addition, Segura is the first Mariners player to ever come out on top of an All-Star Final Vote.

The Mariners asked fans to #SendSegura, and send they did.

Nationals Parks in Washington, D.C., will host the 2018 MLB All-Star Game on Tuesday at 8 p.m. ET. Since the All-Star Final Vote began in 2002, Aguilar is now the third Brewers player to win the competition, following Geoff Jenkins (2003) and Corey Hart (2008).

Aguilar and Segura were announced as the winners of Major League Baseball's Final Vote during Wednesday's edition of MLB Network Tonight. They distributed #SendSegura shirts, partnered with several local businesses on discounts to promote voting and even held open voting sessions at Safeco Field that saw surprise appearances by injured Mariners Mike Zunino and Hernández and general manager Jerry Dipoto.

In the NL balloting, he won out over Matt Carpenter of the Cardinals, Brandon Belt of the Giants, Max Muncy of the Dodgers, and Trea Turner of the Nationals. It's also well deserved after Segura's superb first half helped to anchor the Mariners infield and offense. Red Sox outfielder Andrew Benintendi was second. Aguilar has not only played his way into an All-Star selection, he's also firmly in the MVP conversation as well based on his production so far.

Aguilar, 28, entered Wednesday night hitting.302 with the National League lead in home runs (23), slugging percentage (.631) and OPS (1.000) for the 55-37 Brewers. That's especially the case given the suspension of Robinson Cano for Seattle. This is his second All-Star Game selection. Now in its 17 season, the All-Star Final Vote has recorded over 845 million votes. Aguilar and Segura earned the final roster spots on the National League and American League All-Star teams through online voting on, the 30 Club sites and mobile devices. A handful of these deserving could still be added in the coming days.

Other reports by Click Lancashire

Discuss This Article