Iran executes eight over attacks on parliament, Khomeini shrine

Elias Hubbard
July 9, 2018

The convicts were sentenced to death in May for their involvement in the 2017 attack in Tehran, when armed men simultaneously stormed the national parliament and the mausoleum of Iran's religious leader Ruhollah Khomeini.

The Iranian men were convicted of directly aiding IS members who undertook the attacks on 7 June 2017, Mizan Online, the Iran judiciary's news agency, said on Saturday.

The ISIS terrorists had carried out the attacks on June 7, 2017, Mizan Online has reported.

Responsibility for the attacks claimed by the group "Islamic state".

Iran has always been fighting against ISIL in Iraq and Syria.

Qassemi's comments came after the top French diplomat accused Tehran of destabilizing the region and sponsoring terrorism, saying Iran must agree to stop "meddling in others' affairs" and cease support for the Syrian government and Houthis in Yemen.

Those executed named as Soleiman Mozafari, Esmail Sufi, Rahman Behrouz, Majed Mortezai, Sirous Azizi, Ayoub Esmaili, Khosro Ramezani and Osman Behrouz.

On the same day, unknown persons started a gunfight with the security in the building of the Iranian Parliament, the terrorists had four.

One of the attackers was detained.

Iran's paramilitary Revolutionary Guard responded to the attack by launching six ballistic missiles into eastern Syria targeting ISIS militants.

Meanwhile, Qassemi said that economic ties between Iran and Germany are on their normal path.

Other reports by Click Lancashire

Discuss This Article