World Cup is awarded to North America

Ruben Hill
June 13, 2018

The vote was 134 for North America to 65 for Morocco.

In eight year's time, numerous young rising stars of the United States men's national team should be in their prime as it is expected to be the first World Cup with 48 teams. "We are all united in football".

"On behalf of our United Bid, thank you so very much for this incredible honour".

"From the bottom of our hearts a big, big, big thank you to you Mr Putin for making us really feel part of the same team", Infantino said. The United States staged the tournament in 1994.

Three US territories - Guam, the US Virgin Islands and Puerto Rico - were among the other member nations to not vote.

The World Cup will expand to 48 teams and 80 games for 2026 and the US will stage 60 of those matches.

He had told the congress earlier that he expected a great tournament from a great host, expressing gratitude to all sides involved in Russian Federation "to celebrate the most attractive event the world has ever seen".

Not to mention the 2026 World Cup will coincide with the 250-year anniversary of the U.S.' independence. The U.S. will host 60 of the 80 matches, including the final, scheduled for MetLife Stadium outside New York City. 60 matches will take place in the United States with the remaining 20 split evenly between Canada and Mexico.

The final will be held at the 84,953-capacity MetLife Stadium, which is home to National Football League sides the New York Giants and the New York Jets.

"If we get to host in 2026, that's the realization of a lifelong dream, to get back to the World Cup, and to give kids that opportunity to be inspired like I was in 1986".

Meanwhile, the United States hosted the World Cup previously in 1994 while Mexico hosted it in 1970 and 1986.

"Hosting a FIFA World Cup™ is an extraordinary honor and privilege", said Steven Reed, President of Canada Soccer and Co-Chair of the United Bid. Whether FIFA also extends this courtesy to Mexico and Canada - the latter a relative nonentity in global soccer that has qualified for just one World Cup in 1986 - remains to be seen. Both Valerie Plante of Montreal and John Tory of Toronto retweeted a video of the bid team reacting to the news, with Tory adding, "We won!"

Canada has bid once before in 1986, but it failed.

FIFA's hosting selection process was revamped in the wake of recent scandals enveloping the world governing body of soccer. That money will come from ticket sales, sponsorship revenue, and broadcast rights - and is projected to send $50 million to each of FIFA's 200-plus member nations.

Other reports by Click Lancashire

Discuss This Article