Mikko Korhonen wins inaugural Shot Clock Masters

Ruben Hill
June 13, 2018

Mikko Korhonen produced a brilliant display of front-running to blow away the field and win his first European Tour title at the Shot Clock Masters.

The 37-year-old Finn, who made his Tour debut in 2010 and has been to the qualifying school 12 times, overcame two weather delays to finish on 16 under par, six shots ahead of Scotland's Connor Syme at Diamond Country Club.

Steve Webster, Nicolas Colsaerts, Raphael Jacquelin and Justin Walters shared third spot on nine under, with David Horsey part of the group a further stroke back. "It's been a long wait so it feels so good".

"I didn't really expect it to drop, but it was absolutely ideal up and over".

Syme, 22, birdied the 18th with a 50-foot putt to clinch second place.

"With me being in contention, there may have been shots I would have stood off from, but with the time limit I knew I couldn't".

"I'm absolutely over the moon", the former Walker Cup player told Sky Sports.

"It always felt like a special week and I just fancied to do something really class near the end and to hole that putt was just a dream come true".

Keith Pelley, the chief executive of the European Tour, has called for the professional game to time pros over each and every shot after the success of the innovative event in Austria introduced to rid the sport of the scourge of slow play. "It also shows that if the players get into the right mindset, then they can play quicker".

"I think it makes it better viewer experience for those watching on television and a better customer experience at the tournaments".

Other reports by Click Lancashire

Discuss This Article