Kwiatkowski back in yellow as Sky dominate Dauphine TTT

Ruben Hill
June 8, 2018

But Team Sky, with three national time trial champions setting the pace, proved to be much strong and ended up beating BMC's time by no less than 37 seconds.

Team Sky has won the Team Time Trial of the Criterium du Dauphine, allowing Michal Kwiatkowski to re-take the lead in the overall classification.

Wednesday's third stage is a 35km team time-trial between Pont-de-Vaux and Louhans-Châteaurenaud and is expected to blow apart the standings.

Team time trial world champions Team Sunweb will be first off the ramp at 14:50 local time with three minutes separating each team.

"Now we have four hard stages ahead of us and we'll see how it goes".

"I thought I was on a good wheel, but we hesitated and the other guys got the jump on us". Lotto Soudal were third, 53 seconds back.

South Africa's Daryl Impey held the leader's jersey overnight but his Mitchelton-Scott team lost 56 seconds to the Sky riders, and he now sits eighth. Teammates Gianni Moscon, Jonathan Castroviejo and Geraint Thomas complete the top four.

"I'm so happy that I got no major issues after the crash yesterday".

BMC Racing Team did put itself in the mix for the stage win. "We rode a ideal stage, technically and tactically, on the entire course", the Pole said.

Thursday's 181-kilometre fourth stage runs from Chazey-sur-Ain to Lans-en-Vercors and features a gruelling climb of the Col du Mont Noir and steep ascent into Vercors.

Other reports by Click Lancashire

Discuss This Article