Sega Ages is coming to the Switch

Joanna Estrada
April 16, 2018

SEGA has announced the first slew of games for its SEGA AGES for Nintendo Switch program, which brings classic SEGA titles over to Nintendo Switch. It revealed that five games would be making the jump initially, including Alex Kidd in Miracle World, Phantasy Star, Thunder Force IV, Sonic the Hedgehog and as well as a port of the original arcade version of Gain Ground. Today, the Japanese gaming luminary announced that the SMS versions of Phantasy Star and Alex Kidd are coming to the Switch.

The first Sega Ages games will be released this summer in Japan. The full lineup includes over 15 games and will be handled by studio M2, who has cut its teeth on a number of brilliant retro revivals over the past few years.

At the end of the panel, Shimomura said, "I believe that the Nintendo Switch hardware characteristics mesh very well with classic games".

In addition to delivering the top-notch emulation M2 is known for, the new Sega Ages re-releases will include new content and features.

The team has also confirmed that arcade releases will be part of the line-up, with Gain Ground being the initial launch title. Now we just need to wait for E3 to roll around so Sega can provide us with a release schedule, as well as when Saturn, Dreamcast and arcade games will start rolling in.

Octopath Traveler, the upcoming Nintendo Switch exclusive RPG from Square Enix, has received its first rating courtesy of Australia.

Sega Ages was a series of retro compilations released on the Sega Saturn back in mid-90s.

Other reports by Click Lancashire

Discuss This Article