Rahul faces acid test with impending Karnataka Assembly polls

Elias Hubbard
April 16, 2018

Patra said that the people of Karnataka, where polls are due next month, give the response to the appeasement politics of the Congress under the Siddaramaiah government.

Raut further claimed that such a situation did not prevail when the Congress was in power. Congress party leaders concede that winning Karnataka Assembly polls would strengthen Rahul's bid to replace Modi at the Centre as he would be able to muster the non-BJP parties under a common umbrella so as to forge a "Rainbow alliance" (similar to the 2004 scenario) ahead of next year's general polls. It has now been allotted to his son Yatindra. Mahadevappa, who wanted to contest from another seat, will now have to contest from T Narsipurelection: 15 women in Congress list. There are 84 parliamentary seats reserved for candidates belonging to the scheduled castes. The supporters said Srinivas would contest as a rebel candidate.

The party said it has left the Melukota Assembly seat (AC-188) for one of its partners. In 2013, the party had given tickets to 19 Muslim candidates. Sitting MLAs who were denied a ticket include Basavaraj Shivannavar from Badgy, Manohar Tehsildar from Hangal, Shiv Moorti Nayak from Mycunda, Turuverevere from Shriniwas and Sharabsherry from Tiptur.

The Congress' present and former Dalit lawmakers, those holding offices in zilla parishad, civic bodies and panchayat samitis, will take part in the launch event, aimed at sensitising the attendees on the current state of affairs with regard to the community.

Meanwhile, BJP is also on an outreach mission to woo the dalits. Among the fresh faces fielded by the Congress are Samath Raj, Anjali Nimbalkar, G Padmavati, Roopa Shashidhar, H S Manjunath, K Fatima, Madhu Madhe Gouda, MD Laxminarayan Vani, Krishna Reddy, Keertana Rudresh Gowda.

Other reports by Click Lancashire

Discuss This Article