Late Vinod Khanna honoured with Dada Saheb Phalke Award

Henrietta Strickland
April 15, 2018

Actor-turned-politician Vinod Khanna, who died previous year, has been conferred the Dadasaheb Phalke Award - the highest cinema honour in India - posthumously.

While the Malayalam film industry dominated the 65th National Film Awards by bagging several top honours under various categories, the best feature film award went to the Assamese film 'Village Rockstar'.

Apart from Chandni, Vinod Khanna and Sridevi have also shared screen space in films like Pathar Ke Insan and Farishtay. Ganesh Acharya has won the award for Best Choreography for the song Goli Tu Lath maar in Toilet Ek Prem Katha.

Mainstream blockbuster Baahubali: The Conclusion wrapped up neat, winning the award for the best popular film providing wholesome entertainment, besides being named for special effects and action direction.

"Great friend, great guy but unfortunately never got the chance to work with him", said Shekhar Kapur at the National Awards. Sridevi has been posthumously awarded the Best Actress award for Mom. Tripathi also won a Special Mention for his performance in the film. Kapur called Tripathi's portrayal one of the highlights of the Amit V Masurkar-directed film. "I'm ecstatic with the news about the film winning the National Award Honour".

"I have never worked with Vinod Khanna but he was a friend". When I stepped out of my village, I had the desire of winning a national award someday.

Actress Divya Dutta won the award for Best Supporting Actress for "Iraada" while Best Female Playback Singer Award was won by Waang by Sasha Tirupathi (Kaatru Veliyidai) and Best Sound Design went to "Walking With The Wind" (Ladakhi Film). It is my first national award even though everyone thought I had already won a national award.

Vinod Khanna, best known for films like Amar Akbar Anthony, Qurbani, Achanak, Hera Pheri, Muqaddar K Sikander, kick-started his journey in Bollywood with negative roles in movies like Mera Gaon Mera Desh and Purab Aur Paschim. Best Actor Award goes to Riddhi Sen for Nagarkirtan. Best Child Artist Award goes to Bhanita Das for Village Rockstars. Mhorkya, a Marathi film, was adjudged the best children's film, while the best Marathi film award went to Kaccha Limbu.

Other reports by Click Lancashire

Discuss This Article