Rajya Sabha polls: BJP fields four aspirants, Congress in spot

Lawrence Kim
March 14, 2018

Union ministers Arun Jaitley, Ravi Shankar Prasad, Dharmendra Pradhan and Thawar Chand Gehlot were among the prominent candidates who filed their nomination papers for the March 23 Rajya Sabha polls in various states. Former Union minister in the previous Congress-led UPA government Naran Rathwa and senior leader of the Gujarat Pradesh Congress Committee (GPCC) Amee Yagnik have filed nominations as Congress party candidates.

In Maharashtra a candidate needs 42 votes to win.

"Congress has fielded two candidates for Gujarat and are supporting an independent candidate who is wishing to fight against the BJP".

However, the candidature of Independent candidate Anil Agarwal on the last day of nominations has made the contest for the tenth seat interestingly poised considering that the BJP with 325 MLAs (the total number includes 13 MLAs of its allies, Apna Dal (Soney Lal) and Suheldev Bhartiya Samaj Party) and the Samajwadi Party with 47 MLAs are assured of winning eight and one seat respectively. Congress party leader and former minister Rajmani Patel too submitted the nomination form. But getting their support would need deft political management from the Congress leadership.

The lone CPM member and the Peasants and Workers Party of India's three legislators are inclined towards the Congress and can make up the shortfall. Mansukh Mandavia, minister of state for road transport and highways, and shipping, chemicals and fertilizers; and Parshottam Rupala, minister of state for panchayati raj, agriculture and farmers welfare filed their nominations for the Rajya Sabha on Monday.

Altogether seven candidates are in the fray from the state where polling will be held for four seats. A candidate can score a straight win with 38 votes.

"BJP offered me the opportunity to serve Karnataka and Bengaluru in the Rajya Sabha", he added.

Former Maharashtra chief minister Narayan Rane and senior journalist Kumar Ketkar were among the four candidates who filed their nominations in Mumbai today.

"Of the five candidates, four have filed nominations on the last date (Monday), including three from the Congress and one from the BJP, while JD-S candidate B.M. Farooq had filed nomination on March 9", the Election Commission (EC) official told IANS here. At present the party wise strength in the assembly is Congress-122, BJP-43, JDS-37, BSR Congress-3, KJP-2, KMP-1, independents-8, Speaker-1, nominated-1, vacant-7.

"There is infighting in the Congress and they are confused about their candidates".

All six candidates are contesting without any opposition so their election is a foregone conclusion. With this, the YSRCP is all set to win the third one easily.

Other reports by Click Lancashire

Discuss This Article