Balram Naik announced as Congress RS candidate

Elias Hubbard
March 14, 2018

Congress party leader and former minister Rajmani Patel too submitted the nomination form.

The door to Rajya Sabha opened before Muraleedharan only because the BJP national leadership chose to turn a blind eye on the "threat" raised by BDJS in the wake of Chengannur bypoll. However, Congress has rejected the request and has fielded 3 candidates.

Union Law Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad will contest from Bihar. Veerendra Kumar's term would have expired in April 2022.

Rest two candidates filed their nomination papers as Independent.

M P Veerendra Kumar, State President of Janata Dal (United), Sharad Yadav faction, is the candidate of the ruling CPI-M led LDF.

For a candidate to win, 37 first preference votes are required. Altogether 11 BJP contestants are in the fray and some of them may be asked to withdraw, party sources said.

Amid high drama, Rathwa finally managed to file his nomination in the last hour.

Choosing V. Muraleedharan has sent a message to the party cadre in Kerala, where the BJP is trying to break the Congress-Left duopoly. Chief minister Devendra Fadnavis is trying to get the Shiv Sena's additional votes for the BJP's fourth candidate, Vijaya Rah-atkar. As per the strength of each party in the assembly, BJP is eligible for three seats, while the Shiv Sena, Congress and NCP are allotted one member each.

Abhishek Manu Singhvi is the party's candidate from West Bengal and he will win as the Trinamool Congress has made a decision to support him.

"As part of the political strategy to counter the Congress' disruptive practices, we have fielded our third candidate, Kiritsinh Rana". Hence, Congress president Ashok Chavan is trying for unopposed elections.

Gujarat's Deputy Chief Minister Nitin Patel said there was huge discontent within the Congress and that there are chances of cross voting. Union HRD Minister Prakash Javadekar had filed his papers earlier.

Kaushik while clarifying on the goof-up of purchasing nomination form, said being the State President, it is his responsibility to make preparations for the candidate on behalf of the party. Elections will be held on four seats on March 23.

Ajay Pratap Singh, who has contested the assembly elections in 2003 and 2008, and Kailash Soni will represent the party from Madhya Pradesh.

The Congress has not renominated any of its retiring members, except senior leader Abhishek Manu Singhvi, from states where it is expected to win seats.

G.C. Chandrashekar is presently the General Secretary of the KPCC.

Other reports by Click Lancashire

Discuss This Article