KCR Sending T News MD To Rajya Sabha

Elias Hubbard
March 13, 2018

Party president and Telangana Chief Minister K Chandrashekhar Rao named Joginapalli Santosh Kumar, Banda Prakash Mudiraj and Badugula Lingaiah Yadav as the candidates. Mr Rajaiah replied that his party will take a decision. The TRS is confident of winning all the three seats. The opposition YSR Congress, which has 44 MLAs after the defection of 23 to the TDP, has the strength to win the third seat.

The TRS and Congress candidates filed two sets of nominations each while the Independent filed only one set.

The TRS has 90 MLAs including those who defected from other parties.

After discussing with party MLAs at the legislature meeting held in Telangana Bhavan on Sunday afternoon, KCR has announced the names of the three candidates for Rajya Sabha.

Kumar is KCR's nephew and is from the Velama community.

Filing of nominations for the Rajya Sabha elections was completed on Monday and in Telangana, a contest is inevitable while in Andhra Pradesh it will be unanimous. To elect each Rajya Sabha candidate the support of 30 MLAs is required; the Congress has only 12 MLAs.

The Congress, which has 13 MLAs in the Telangana assembly, chose to field former Union minister P Balram Naik for the Rajya Sabha.

Other reports by Click Lancashire

Discuss This Article