Tri-nation schedule involving India, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh revised

Lawrence Kim
January 18, 2018

All matches will be played at Colombo's R Premadasa Stadium.

To kick off the tournament, which will be played in celebration of Sri Lanka's 70th year of independence, India will once again take on the island nation in the opening match. This means that these teams would play twice against each other before two teams finally make it to the finals.

In reply, Perera, hitting five fours and three sixes, fought a lonely battle after Sri Lanka slipped to 181 for five, but his departure spelt doom for the Sri Lankans.

It was Sri Lanka's fourth defeat against the southern African side in the last six matches.

Raza top-scored with 81 and ended Kusal Perera's impressive innings at 80, while bowling 10 overs for just 54 runs. One wicket brought another as Kusal Mendis was caught off Cremer for a duck in the next over.

The tournament will be played in a round robin manner between the three nations.

They have a strong batting line-up, at lreast on paper, with the likes of Mathews, Chandimal, Asela Gunaratne, Niroshan Dickwella and Thisara Perera capable of scoring big and briskly.

Hamilton Masakadza and Sikandar Raza set up the win with half-centuries that took the team's total to 290 for 6 after they were asked to bat first.

And the all-rounder didn't disappoint, smashing eight fours and a six to provide the late acceleration after Masakadza, Solomon Mire (34), Brendan Taylor (38) and Malcom Walker (29) had all contributed.

Raza, who hit eight fours and a six during his innings, also took one wicket after opening the attack with his offspin for Zimbabwe, that of the unsafe Kusal, whose 83-ball innings included eight fours and two sixes, and was later named Man of the Match. It staged the stage for a fitting match to celebrate 100 ODIs at Mirpur, although there were very few spectators to witness it.

Other reports by Click Lancashire

Discuss This Article