Windies colts' lack of sportsmanship results in Jiveshan Pillay's freakish dismissal

Ruben Hill
January 17, 2018

Watch as South Africa's Jiveshan Pillay is controversially given out obstructing the field after he picked up the ball to return it to West Indies fielders during the Under-19 World Cup in New Zealand - sparking a fresh debate over the "spirit of cricket" across social media.

West Indies captain and wicketkeeper Emmanuel Stewart appealed for the dismissal and, after a review, got his wish, robbing the South African opener (47) of his second consecutive half-century in the tournament.

Interestingly, the video footages showed that Jiveshan Pillay had no intentions of stopping the ball when in play.

The decision would have favoured the South African side if and only if West Indies withdrew their appeal.

It was always going to be hard to rule in favour of the batsman once the matter had been sent to the third umpire, unless the fielding team withdrew the appeal.

The third umpire gave him out in line with Law 37.4 of the ICC Code Of Conduct which pertains to "returning the ball to the fielder" WHAT IS THE CONTROVERSY THEN?

On January 17'2018 Under-19 West Indies cricket team ignited a debate which is likely to go on for days if not weeks.

The Baby Proteas, now involved in the Under-19 World Cup in New Zealand, are the "victims" of a heated debate of cricket rules and the so-called "spirit of the game".

"This was is an unfortunate issue", Bishop said on Fox Sports. The batsman is not trying to gain an unfair advantage. He is not trying to be unfair. "The ball had stopped rolling & the player picked it up", Sthalekar tweeted. It's not threatening the stumps.

West Indies were involved in a similar controversial dismissal in the 2016 U-19 World Cup when their bowler Keemo Paul mankaded Zimbabwe's last wicket to clinch a must-win game. I would have to have a deeper look at myself if I was the fielding captain. Can I use some discretion here for the sake of the game and whatever the spirit of the game means? I wouldn't have gone that way.

However, according to the letter of the law, the correct decision appears to have been made.

Other reports by Click Lancashire

Discuss This Article

FOLLOW OUR NEWSPAPER