Mayon Volcano status raised to Alert Level 2

Elias Hubbard
January 14, 2018

Residents of at least two villages within the six kilometer radius around the volcano have already been evacuated, but some people still remain in the danger zone, hoping the threat is not yet "critical".

"It is hard today for us to collect data, especially ashes because of heavy rains", Daep said.

The 4:21 p.m. eruption sent up a 25-kilometer ash and steam plume that drifted southwest and dissipated after close to two hours. Anoling, Camalig. Since the eruption, rockfall events have been intermittently recorded and are continuing as of the time of the release of this bulletin.

The incident prompted Phivolcs to raise the alert level on Mayon from Level 1 (abnormal) to Level 2 (ncreasing unrest).

In the second eruption, the volcano emitted a grayish steam and ash cloud as sulfurous odor was also detected where rumbling sounds were heard by residents in Barangay Anolong in Camalig.

Mayon last erupted in 2014.

The institute added: "The public is strongly advised to be vigilant and desist from entering the six kilometre (3.7mile) radius Permanent Danger Zone to minimise risks from sudden explosions, rockfall and landslides". The institute advised people near ashfall to cover their noses and mouths with a damp, clean cloth or dust mask. Civil aviation authorities must also advise pilots to avoid flying close to the volcano's summit as ash from any sudden eruption can be hazardous to aircraft.

Mayon's most violent eruption was in 1814, when more than 1,200 people were killed and a town was buried in volcanic mud.

Renato Solidum, the head of PHIVOLCS, declared the Mayon is due for another eruption after having displayed abnormal behaviour since the end of past year.

PHIVOLCS raised alert level 2 over Mayon Volcano early Sunday, meaning there is increasing unrest, after the volcano spewed ash on Saturday afternoon.

The displaced residents have taken shelter in schools turned into evacuation centres, Gomez said.

Albay Public Safety and Emergency Management Office head Cedric Daep announced the barangays in the towns of Daraga, Camalig, Guinobatan, Malilipot, Tabaco City, and Ligao City.

Other reports by Click Lancashire

Discuss This Article