Directors Guild Awards 2018 Nominees Announced

Lawrence Kim
January 13, 2018

Photo Greta Gerwig at the National Board of Review gala, where she won best director.

The Directors Guild of America has unveiled the list of nominees for its 70th Annual DGA Awards in the feature film category as well as the category for first-time director.

Chances are strong that one of their movies will go on to nab the Oscar for best picture. Several Latino men and Taiwan's Ang Lee have won the award.

Guillermo del Toro, who won the Golden Globe for directing Sunday, also scored his first DGA nomination for the romantic fantasy "The Shape of Water", as did Martin McDonagh for his revenge tale "Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri". And Nolan is beloved by the DGA and deservedly gets recognition for his stunning achievement on Dunkirk here. Last year, Damien Chazelle became the youngest DGA feature film victor and went on to win the Academy Award for "La La Land".

The two other Golden Globe nominees for Best Director - Steven Spielberg for The Post and Ridley Scott for All the Money in the World - are absent from the DGA's list. Other contenders in the category are Geremy Jasper ("Patti Cake$"), William Oldroyd ("Lady Macbeth"), Taylor Sheridan ("Wind River") and Aaron Sorkin ("Molly's Game") The DGA has almost 17,000 directors and members of the directorial team working in film, television, commercials, new media and other audiovisual media, making it one of the largest precursor bodies on the Oscar circuit. Oscar nominations are announced on January 23 and the Academy Awards ceremony takes place in Hollywood on March 4.

In the documentary category, Ken Burns and Lynn Novick were nominated for "The Vietnam War", along with Errol Morris for "Wormwood", Steve James for "Abacus: Small Enough to Jail", Matthew Heineman for "City of Ghosts" and Bryan Fogel for "Icarus".

Other reports by Click Lancashire

Discuss This Article