AAP loses Vishwas, nominates Sanjay Singh, 2 others for RS

Elias Hubbard
January 13, 2018

Maken also criticised AAP's nomination of Sushil Gupta for the Rajya Sabha, saying, "When he came to submit his resignation from the Congress, he told me that he was offered a Rajya Sabha seat by the AAP".

Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) leader Kumar Vishwas on Wednesday derided party president Arvind Kejriwal over him not being nominated for the Rajya Sabha.

Sisodia said Kejriwal wanted to nominate people who have contributed in the field of media, economics, law and academics and thus "18 such big names were considered".

After he was denied a Rajya Sabha nomination, disgruntled AAP leader Kumar Vishwas said he has been "punished" for speaking the truth.

Delhi's Deputy CM Manish Sisodia confirmed the names through an official announcement.

Kumar Vishwas, a popular AAP leader, however, appealed to the AAP workers to continuing their tirade against corruption and one-upmanship in the party.

Sources in the school on condition of anonymity said that despite the order of the Delhi High Court the school is yet to clear all its salary dues to the teachers and consequently three of them have filed an appeal in the high court. The decision to nominate the three was taken at the party's Political Affairs Committee meeting today.

The anger, though not officially articulated by party insiders, is because party seniors like former journalist Ashutosh and Vishwas are considered more capable of taking on the BJP and adding to the quality of debate in Parliament, than the two Guptas.

Sushil Gupta is a Delhi-based businessman and ND Gupta is a chartered accountant.

The three seats will fall vacant as the terms of Karan Singh, Janardhan Dwivedi and Parvez Hashmi will end on January 27.

Those approached included former RBI chief Raghuram Rajan, ex-BJP minister Arun Shourie and former CJI T.S. Thakur.

"I used to say, whatever his other faults, Arvind Kejriwal can not be bought. Now I don't know what to say".

Elections for three Rajya Sabha seats from Delhi is set to be held on January 16. As the Aam Admi Party has the full majority in Delhi, so there are chances for the party to win all the seats.

Other reports by Click Lancashire

Discuss This Article