ITF announces world champions

Ruben Hill
December 9, 2017

Spanish-Venezuelan Wimbledon champion Garbine Muguruza was named Women's Tennis Association (WTA) Player of the Year Friday.

31-year-old Nadal, who picked the gong for the third time, has also become the oldest ITF men's world champion after a season which saw him lift his 10th French Open and third US Open title.

It's the first time Muguruza has earned the honor, and 2017 marks the first year since 1998 (Pete Sampras and Lindsay Davenport) that two compatriots have won the year-end awards. It is four years since I last finished number one on the ATP rankings and this has a special feeling. She ended the year ranked number two behind Romania's Simona Halep who is still chasing a first grand slam title.

Muguruza said: 'Becoming ITF World Champion in such a competitive year is awesome for me.

'(Nadal) is a great role model for all of us, so it is a great moment for tennis in Spain'.

All of the world champions, including wheelchair and juniors (Axel Geller and Whitney Osuigwe) will be given their awards during Roland Garros next year.

I knew that putting in the hard work would pay off eventually and it made winning Wimbledon and achieving the No 1 ranking so special.

Tennis duo Chan Yung-jan (詹詠然) and Martina Hingis were named the women's doubles world champions of the year by the International Tennis Federation (ITF), making the former the first Taiwanese to ever receive that honor.

Other reports by Click Lancashire

Discuss This Article